6 Comments

Finally a relief

After a long wait, I finally managed to get one off the eBay.  Ah, sorry I need to mention that this is about the Touring Screen which is almost impossible to find now. Yamaha OEM accessory parts for the discontinued motorcycles is almost impossible to find.

All those people who ride all year long despite the ever-changing weather know the importance of the right riding kit. Especially when you do long distances everyday for your commute, you would definitely prefer to have a tall windscreen. When I bought my motorcycle I was not traveling 66miles a day and when I started searching for the screen it was already out of stock due to the discontinuation of the OEM accessories.

The original Touring screen Acryl(pic below) is no where to be found although there is always aftermarket GIVI, PUIG and few others but I don’t trust anything that is not OEM especially when it meant for the bike. After waiting, searching and looking continuously for the one I was lucky and timing was good that I got a very good deal for the OEM Yamaha Touring screen on eBay. At first I had my doubts but the listing clearly was for unused OEM Yamaha FZ6 touring screen that I was looking for. So without second thought I decided instantly on what I was after for all this time.

After a slow PayPal eCheque transfer via eBay I got my almost new or say it New Yamaha FZ6 Windscreen. It came in as two parts – the first being the acryl touring screen and second the trimming which unlike the original screen is not part of the windscreen but a rubberized trimming which is bit hard to get on to the screen.

As you can see the difference between the original and touring screen is quite a bit. In practical life, don’t know yet but my excitement is all about the getting it on to the bike right now.

First task was to get the trimming right. Unable to find it online as where to cut the trimming so using a full trim first on the corner and putting it on the cowl I realized that it just wont allow the nuts to be screwed. After getting the rough idea from the previous moulded screen and this one I decided to strip the trim so I can re-add it again.

So Finally after the adjustments the screen was sitting tight on the front of the cowl with the new much awaited extended screen.

Ready, the final addition is completed  and we shall see how long it keeps me happy since after 30,000miles the urge to have more and more is always never ending.

6 comments on “Finally a relief

  1. [...] Extended Windscreen Review and more details [...]

  2. […] Yamaha Fazer 600 reviews Tour 2,000,000, almost a little less, but it is rising in almost two months time which is wet and cold and get to your bones with the kind of thrill that you encounter in this pays.Yamaha Fazer 600 S2 , 2009 model, which is very similar to its predecessors, and possibly take them with some very small differences. I decided on the Yamaha Ténéré 660 and update my previous 600 model 99 Fzr 2009.Evidemment for like minded who ride in all weather and commuting is mainly the main purpose, this bike is a good cause. Handling : has certainly been better precedents. Only if you have a tendency to roll him on the highway, you will suffer because of the wind behind and very like something with a larger windshield, Yamaha Power . Able to draw a right 66 mph in first gear with staying still while it’s certainly no compromise on power range that the engine is a derivative of the existing pure R6 – as indicated by Yamaha. Indeed, the good powerline is remarkably noticed with throttle response engine . With 2,000 miles on the clock, there is no single sign of all cramps or perceptible alarm that rings a bell in my mind. Perhaps, the only sign that the positive line is that it is extremely quiet and wants to make you scream up the power curve at any speed Braking . From previous Fazer, who was 10 years old to the new generation of bike today I had some braking near the city block traffic in London, it is very sharp. Personally, it is quite presentable in the bike control, which will not let you down with braking. Sharp and precise if you know how to bring this beauty to stop at controlled aggression integrated Quality . Certainly much lighter since all sellers of motorcycles know what they want with motorcycles coming, you do not count, it’s true – you would have to answer, YES – is it not? Mark on 8/10 with only the biggest missed being the small windscreen and seems under the standard provided for a big bike like that .. Yamaha could have done much better with its large windshield deviation default Mileage . This is a big thumbs down as I commute every day and find it quite disturbing that Fazer prior non FI 10 years was much more efficient on the mileage as compared to this new version of FI technologically advanced, it provides only 110 miles to a full tank. Again, I’m not an aggressive rider and prefers to smooth and riding through the city to plupart.J ‘would have liked to say, overall, this machine has a power range that you offer you might want in a city and most of the time, even on motorways, to clinch your thirst, it is capable of 146 mph that the more you feel you require all-in-one motorcycle. All comments above are my own words and numbers observed, Please do not hesitate to ask and share. Read the second review of 30,000 mile Advanced Windshield review and details […]

  3. FZ6 is not discontinued, it is just not sold in Europe anymore. By the way, that trim is going to look nasty in a few years time (cracks etc). Bought my FZ6 in 2007 and the touring screen in 2008, so it has seen a bit of UV light. I was looking for a place to buy a replacement trim, that is how I stumbled upon here.

    • Your screen should have come with a pair of metal clips, that are supposed to secure the ends of the trim… Didn’t see those in your photos.

      • Nopes, it didn’t come with any metal clips. I checked with a Yamaha dealer and he showed me on his parts catalogue that it came with just trim and screen. Unless they do it differently based on country specific models.

    • I shall be able to share what is happening with my screen soon, haven’t noticed any changes since I got it. I would think, it is not an easier find anymore – my thought, can be wrong.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

